TyBMS begins along with priority adjustments.

A crucial academic year has begun in my life from the 8th of this month. My last and final year of graduation brings me to the final two semesters of the course in BMS – the 5th and 6th. These two semesters are packed with 6 subjects each. Each subject has one presentation, 2 internal tests that give you 40 marks and then an external written test that will be of 60 marks. 100 marks in all. So all in all we have 12 little tests, 6 presentations and 6 big written tests to do twice this year. Oh, and did I mention that the 5th Sem has one ‘subject’ that is a whole project in itself. Like a research, we are given to choose a certain topic and then we have to make a 200 page thesis-like report and submit it to the board that will send examiners to conduct and oral viva. 200 pages for 100 marks!? To aid the pressure I have joined coaching classes for biggie subjects Financial Management and Logistics for Semester 5. The remnant I will have to depend on either the teachers, the text books or in my case, Google! As seen from the classes that I attend, there are thousands of students attempting the BMS exams this year. And this year is by all means the last academic year in college for me as a teen (I’m 19 as of now). With none of my past board performances being far from exemplary, the onus is on me to make this year a memorable one academically.

What this pressure does is that not only does it motivate me to study, but also pushes to the sidelines other activities that I wish I could do this year. I wanted to learn the guitar fully last year (since the past 8 years actually), but time runs too short. Church life with all its meetings and stuff will also be another challenge to attend. Just today I was wondering whether to attend the two-day ELTP and sacrifice a lecture of college for the same. I did attend the meeting in the end. Also my passion of reading books has also been halted temporarily. I’m stuck with ‘What’s so amazing about grace?’ by Phillip Yancey for 3 years now. I have read the initial part of that book 7 times, but have never completed it! That and many other books were on my agenda for this year. Blogging as I am doing right now, is also going to be a self-curbed activity. And F1, Sigh* the last race happens to be in October – exactly when the Board exams begin. I can now understand what a friend of mine went through last year when he was doing his TY while serving the church at the same time. My priority to the Lord hasn’t changed though. What has, is the schedule altogether. It’s become difficult to squeeze other things in. I also envisioned my self to put on 8kgs this year. That is yet to be. Will I get my license? Don’t know.

I am no super-fast-study being, neither am I the nerd who knows-it-all. The only thing I have to be my ‘turbo boost’ this year is the grace of God to handle all this. Committing my plans to him is the best way forward as the bible says. Friends will play an important role as well since a good chunk of the marks in the class involve us working together on presentations but none as important as Christ. I write this to remind myself of His importance in this year. It will be one that I’m looking forward to. At the end of it, I want to be able to stand up and testify in church about his grace and wonders this year. Distinction will be one of them!

2 thoughts on “TyBMS begins along with priority adjustments.

  1. dude dude im gonna quote some shit from your own paragraph and prove you wrong
    : ) : ) : )

    Neil wrote :A crucial academic year has begun in my life from the 8th of this month.
    kennys correction : a crucial but a cake walk year as your a nerd and nerds dont have to worry ……

    Neil wrote : To aid the pressure I have joined coaching classes for biggie subjects Financial Management and Logistics for Semester 5
    kennys correction : what Fu#$)#($ pressure are you talking about. you could come with a blind fold and write everyones paper without batting an eyelid

    Neil wrote : The remnant I will have to depend on either the teachers, the text books or in my case, Google!
    kenrick : you will depend on the teachers and we will depend on u . as you are the knowledge of life you can open an encyclopedia after u . the neilopedia : )

    Neil wrote : With none of my past board performances being exemplary, the onus is on me to make this year a memorable one academically.
    kenrick : hahahahaahhh do you want me to laugh for real? seriously …with all your board performances being extra EXEMPLARY outstanding … you have put all of us to shame. we even had a plan to kill u once cuz u wer just to good in front of us .shame we didnt have a sharp enough knife

    Neil wrote : What this pressure does is that not only does it motivate me to study, but also pushes to the sidelines other activities that I wish I could do this year.
    kenrick: yes STUDY STUDY STUDY and become a NERD ….

    neil wrote : I am no super-fast-study being, neither am I the nerd who knows-it-all.
    kenrick : dude so gay man … like u arent the mister know all already …..

    neil wrote : At the end of it, I want to be able to stand up and testify in church about his grace and wonders this year. Distinction will be one of them!
    kenrick : yeah become a priest : P

  2. “My past academic performances being exemplary……”
    My Bad….
    what i meant was “my past board performances being FAR FROM exemplary, the onus is on me to make this year a memorable one academically…”
    Sorry about that.

    Well i must say you really took time to read! I’m thrilled man! Thanks! Maybe now for you i’ll start putting up lecture notes and study stuff too. Lol!

    Why are you so insecure my boy? You know you can do well! After all, you got D Neil with you!! I joined classes because i cant ‘come with a blind fold and write everyones paper without batting an eyelid’. Thanks for the encouragement though.
    TC!

Leave a Reply

